Redeemed

I haven’t written in a while and was feeling inspired to pick it back up, so here are a few thoughts from today.

I was reading in Isaiah and couldn’t help but be overwhelmed by God’s grace.

“Ah, sinful nation, a people laden with iniquity, offspring of evildoers, children who deal corruptly!” – Isaiah 1:4

Once again, the people of God have fallen into wicked ways and pursued false gods. In the beginning of this passage, God rebukes His people and makes them aware of their sin. But he doesn’t stop there, and this is what I love about Him. He goes on to say “Come now, let us reason together, says the Lord: though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be white as snow; though they are red like crimson, they shall become like wool. If you are willing and obedient, you shall eat the good of the land.” (Isaiah 1:18).

God never points out our sin without providing a way to make it right. His hand is always there, waiting for us to reach out in obedience and take the help up. What I also love about this, is that God is the only one who can ever make it right. There is nothing in us that is good; it’s only through Christ that we are made Holy. Once we realize this truth, it’s like a weighted is lifted off of our shoulders. We cannot attain righteousness by any works of our own; but only through the daily submission and obedience to our Lord and savior. You see, it’s no longer on us. We are no longer slaves to sin. So, just as God forgives, we must also forgive ourselves and realize that every day is a fight; every minute a battle; and every victory is in Christ.

I hope this encourages you. I tend to struggle a lot with making mistakes and then trying to punish myself for them. But in reality, remaining in a state of condemnation keeps my mind focused on myself instead of God’s voice. This is where Satan wants us; stuck in a place of self-loathing. God is constantly reminding me of His grace and the fact that I’m not perfect, nor will I ever be. And then He reminds me of the one who defeated that imperfection and now lives inside of me. He gives me hope in His strength and peace in His power. God defeated our sin already, it’s time we stop letting it have victory over us.

Leave a Reply

