God Will Provide

I have been blessed immensely with wonderful friends and family who have built up my support system. Each and everyone of you have contributed in helping me obey the call God has put on my life and I thank you. Your aid financially as well as through prayer has been very much appreciated.

I know many of you are worried about my endeavors and the danger they may bring, you may even have an image of a missing child report pop up in your head every time you hear me talk about it. I cannot tell you that nothing bad will befall me, only God has that kind of information. I can however say that God has changed my heart tremendously in these past few months leading up to my mission and I hope that these realizations will put your minds at ease, at least a little.

I hadn’t the faintest idea that God had India in store for me until about a month or two before I graduated from high school. I had toyed with the idea a year ago, but I never actually expected it to happen. As far as I knew, I was going to graduate from high school, go to college and become a doctor of some sort. That is until God reminded me of His power and even more so, my lack thereof.

During one of my quiet times, I came across a passage in James that dumbfounded me and very quickly put me in my place:

Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go into such and such a town and spend a year there and trade and make a profit” – yet you do not know what tomorrow will bring. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes. Instead you ought to say, “If the Lord wills, we will live and do this or that.” As it is, you boast in your arrogance.  

James 4:13-16

We are all guilty in this, it is impossible not to be. Our world functions on meetings and schedules, and our days consist of checking our watches and writing in a calendar of some sort. But God opened my eyes wide enough to see over the checklists and schedules and reminded me that the stress of planning out my future is not for me. God ultimately has the power in what will come my way, so why spend so much time analyzing every minute of every day? Instead, He calls us to take one day at a time and live it for Him, following the path He has laid out for us and loving everyone we encounter along the way.

Even upon discovering this, I still had my doubts. I had approximately four short months to embark upon a journey that would ultimately cost about $4,000, starting with $32.80 in my bank account. The odds definitely were not in my favor. Everything in me wanted to have faith that God would provide if it was His plan for me to go to India, but I couldn’t get over how impossible my situation seemed. So I spent A LOT of time praying. Before school even ended, I had two job opportunities lined up as well as checks coming in the mail from you all who have been so amazing. My bank account jumped from the tens to the thousands in a matter of weeks. All the while I felt so idiotic for even doubting that God would take care of me. Which is why I have faith that God will take care of me in the future.

God has grown my faith and trust in Him so much in the past few months, and with it He has taken away my fears of what will befall me in India. I am most certain that I will go through trials in the months ahead of me, but I will also have a powerful God protecting me along the way.

If I could put a phrase on the months preparing for my mission it would be God Will Provide. Constantly, I have doubted His power yet every time he brings me back to this phrase. I encourage all of you to rest in it as well because it is a very liberating thing to put one’s faith in a loving and awe-inspiring God. If I haven’t quelled any of your worries, I apologize. All I can say to you is that I am certain that India is where God has called me to be at this point in my life.

I love all of you and I pray that the Spirit will minister to your hearts through my mission.

Leave a Reply

